top of page
  • kellyellenkenyon

Testing Toolkit

Updated: May 12, 2021

In this session, we looked at lots of different tools/ plugins/ programmes that will come in handy when testing.  

A number I currently use, but I will be trying out a few over the coming weeks. 





I really enjoy Trello for organisation, and ease of use. I\’m currently moving so I\’ve also got a moving house board!

https://trello.com/b/FD65Robh – My online portfolio

https://trello.com/b/WH2l8tCq – Dan Ashby’s brilliant book list


Lighthouse & WAVE

In the session we looked at insight tools ”Lighthouse” and web accessibility evaluation tool ”Wave” which are free Chrome plug- ins




Lighthouse is an open-source, automated tool for improving the quality of web pages. You can run it against any web page Not only it tells you the accessibility % of your webpage but it also gives you report on performance, SEO , progressive web apps and much more. You can install lighthouse extension in chrome Developed by Google

WAVE is a suite of evaluation tools that helps authors make their web content more accessible to individuals with disabilities. WAVE can identify many accessibility and Web Content Accessibility Guideline (WCAG) errors, but also facilitates human evaluation of web content. Developed by WebAIM.org.


Tasks for the session:

I used “Lighthouse” tool on Restful Booker

The biggest concern for the website is the "Performance" category as a lot of details are slow to load. There are big pictures and a lot of text- there is also a lot of unused script. 

The page isn’t optimised for Mobile and font/ pictures will be needed to zoomed out to be legible. 

I used “Wave” tool on Restful Booker to see how that reports. 




The majority of the errors came from contrast issues and issues related to alt texts. 

Both tools are great for looking at websites. I will use them both in the future. 






9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A 2021 Retrospective

Inspired by a couple of people whose blogs I read, I decided to do a retro for the year. 2021 was a big year for me, I had absolutely no idea that it was going to be back in January, but I think I've

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page