top of page
  • kellyellenkenyon

It's Been A While

My last post, was back in May, and a lot has happened since then.

Seeing as I'm supposed to be documenting my journey as an aspiring Junior Tester, I thought I'd give a bit of an update.


I completed the Coders Guild Bootcamp in March and wanted to get stuck in straight away. I updated my Trello Portfolio with new learning, and also updated my social media accounts and of course, my website/ CV.


As a now "in the wild junior tester" the next step was looking for opportunities everywhere and anywhere.

There's a lot of advice online/ floating about, but the one I took most to heart was "be involved in the community."

Tech Twitter is massive, and everyone just wants to help! I applied for a few bits of front end stuff here and there but didn't get any interviews (despite some excellent feedback on my Trello Portfolio)- If you don't have one, or don't blog/ have a website - seriously consider it.


10th June- FINALLY AN INTERVIEW





I got some fab interview techniques/tips from the brilliant Scott Kenyon one of the amazing tutors on the Coders Guild Bootcamp I attended.

To say I was nervous, was a understatement, but I got through it and didn't think it went too badly in the end.

The role seemed perfect, mostly front end website testing, ideal for a newbie like me.


It felt like an age later, but unforunately didn't get this role - but I wasn't too down and out, as shortly after another opportunity came my way, in the shape of a possible role with another one of the tutors from the Bootcamp.


Fast forward to August 23rd and I started my new role with Smoothwall as a Junior Test Engineer. A HUGE thank you to the Bootcamp tutors, and in particular Beth Marshall, who without, none of this would have been possible.

If you've not checked out her blog, it's a really cool insight into testing. https://beththetester.com/


I'll blog about how Smoothwall is going in the near future, but my takeaway from all this is never give up!




The community is amazing, and between Twitter, Ministry of Testing, The Coders Guild, I've had an amazing time learning, and also many opportunities, including recoding my first podcast episode (more to come in another blog post).


Thought of the week is to believe in yourself, If you can't love yourself, how the hell gonna love somebody else!


See ya'll




Recent Posts

See All

A 2021 Retrospective

Inspired by a couple of people whose blogs I read, I decided to do a retro for the year. 2021 was a big year for me, I had absolutely no idea that it was going to be back in January, but I think I've

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page